All About Life~


“Arirang” is the title of the song every Korean person loves to sing, both in South Korea and North Korea as well. It is sung in a slow, contemplative tempo, resembling Auld Lang Syne. Korean say the song evokes deep emotion. They savor it rather than sing it. At the 2000 Sydney Olympics, athletes of the two Koreas, for the first time since the division of the peninsula over 50 years ago, marched together during the opening and closing ceremonies.

I always love folk songs because they can bring some sort of feelings that “I miss my country” “I miss my home” “I miss my family” etc *some strong feeling of my childhood too T=T*. I never think folk song only as an old song, I really appreciate it =). After read that Kim Yuna maybe will use “Arirang” for her free skate, I become curious with this folk song *you know, I’m really Gemini -curious-hearted-person- ha3 :p.

My fav. one is Gayageum’s Arirang version :). The Gayageum is a traditional Korean zither-like string instrument, with 12 strings, although more recently variants have been constructed with 21 or other numbers of strings. It is probably the best known traditional Korean musical instrument.It is very similar to the Japanese Koto and the Chinese Guzheng, or table harp, where it is widely believed to have come from.

Gayageum Version

I just think that a folk song in a traditional instrument really best^^

Here is another version (actually I heard the piano version first before the Gayageum version^^)

Piano Version

There are some of Arirang’s lyric, here I bring what I get^^

Verse 1

아리랑, 아리랑, 아라리요…
아리랑 고개로 넘어간다.
나를 버리고 가시는 님은
십리도 못가서 발병난다.

Arirang, Arirang, Arariyo…
Arirang gogaero neomeoganda.
Nareul beorigo gasineun nimeun
Sibrido motgaseo balbyeongnanda.

Arirang, Arirang, Arariyo…
Crossing over Arirang Pass.
Dearwho abandoned me here
Will not walk even ten li before his/her feet hurt.

Verse 2

청청하늘엔 별도 많고
우리네 가슴엔 꿈도 많다

Cheongcheonghaneuren byeoldo manko
Urine gaseumen kkumdo manta

Just as there are many stars in the clear sky,
There are also many dreams in our heart.

Verse 3

저기 저 산이 백두산이라지
동지 섣달에도 꽃만 핀다

Jeogi jeo sani Baekdusaniraji
Dongji seotdaredo kkonman pinda

There, over there that mountain is Baekdu Mountain,
Where, even in the middle of winter days, flowers bloom.

In Korean Cultural Series volume v, Korea Sings Folk and Popular Music and Lyrics (민요와 현대가요) published by Tae Hung Ha (하태흥), Yonsei University Press, 1960, 1968, 1970, 1971, 1978, contains Arirang as an example of Korean folk songs. This volume introduces Arirang, Miryang Arirang and Gangwon Arirang.

I. Arirang

Refrain:
Arirang, Arirang, Arariyo,
Arirang Pass is the long road you go.

후렴:
아리랑 아리랑 아라리요
아리랑 고개로 넘어간다.

1st Verse:
If you leave and forsake me, my own,
Ere three miles you go, lame you’ll have grown.

2nd Verse:
Wondrous time, happy time—let us delay;
Till night is over, go not away.

3rd Verse:
Arirang Mount is my Tear-Falling Hill,
So seeking my love, I cannot stay still.

4th Verse:
The brightest of stars stud the sky so blue;
Deep in my bosom burns bitterest rue.

5th Verse:
Man’s heart is like water streaming downhill;
Woman’s heart is well water—so deep and still.

6th Verse:
Young men’s love is like pinecones seeming sound,
But when the wind blows, they fall to the ground.

7th Verse:
Birds in the morning sing simply to eat;
Birds in the evening sing for love sweet.

8th Verse:
When man has attained to the age of a score,
The mind of a woman should be his love.

9th Verse:
The trees and the flowers will bloom for aye,
But the glories of youth will soon fade away.

II. Miryang Arirang

1st Verse:
Look on me! Look on me! Look on me!
In midwinter, when you see a flower, please think of me!
Chorus: Ari-arirang! Ssuri-Ssurirang! Arariga nanne!
O’er Arirang Pass I long to cross today.

2nd Verse:
Moonkyung Bird Pass has too many curves–
Winding up, winding down, in tears I go.

3rd Verse:
Carry me, carry me, carry me and go!
When flowers bloom in Hanyang, carry me and go.

III. Gangwon Arirang

1st Verse:
Castor and camelia, bear no beans!
Deep mountain fair maidens would go a-flirting.
Chorus: Ari-Ari, Ssuri-Ssuri, Arariyo!
Ari-Ari Pass I cross and go.

2nd Verse:
Though I pray, my soya field yet will bear no beans;
Castor and camelia, why should you bear beans?

3rd Verse:
When I broke the hedge bush stem, you said you’d come away;
At your doorway I stamp my feet, why do you delay?

4th Verse:
Precious in the mountains are darae and moroo;
Honey sweet to you and me would be our love so true.

5th Verse:
Come to me! Come to me! Come and join me!
In a castor and camelia garden we’ll meet, my love!

I WISH THE BEST FOR THE TWO KOREAS, I HOPE THE WAR WILL BE ENDED! BLESS THEM, GOD ♥

Credit : wikipedia, highbeam

Comments on: "Korean Folk Song – Arirang" (15)

  1. Yonghee Grinstead said:

    I am so thrilled to have the lyrics of Arirang.
    Thank you!

  2. Anoet Mangu said:

    Thank you dear Gipsy for lyrics and songs of Arirang. It is fantastic for me, this music.

  3. Thanks in support of sharing such a pleasant thought,
    article is fastidious, thats why i have read it completely

  4. patrick lopez said:

    a very wonderful it is very wonderful ohh very wonderful again and then again very very wonderful ohh my god its wonderful how wonderful it was its wonderful

  5. patrick lopez said:

    yes its beautiful like me

  6. patrick lopez said:

    i love u arhon macaraig

  7. Mү рartner and I stumbped over here by a dіfferent website and thоught I shold cheсk things out.
    I like whaqt I see so now i’m folloѡing you. Look forward
    to exploring your web page again.

  8. is this the whole lyrics of arirang?

  9. I’ve heard so hyang sang this song, but i think it has different lyrics. Would you please find me the lyrics. Thank you :)

  10. Kenny Rebecca said:

    Please can I get the Holo Arirang lyrics? I love that version soo much and ones above are making sense :)

  11. Yay google is my queen assisted me to find this great site!

Leave a Reply

